Spring Break Begins: Back to the Food Blog

Spring break has finally begun! I won’t pretend that my stay in Paris hasn’t been vacation enough, but this is something that I’ve been looking forward to all semester long. A little rundown of where I’ll be for the next two weeks:

Florence, Italy: April 14th-17th

Venice, Italy: 17th-19th

Budapest, Hungary: 19th-22nd

Prague, Czech Republic: 22nd-24th

Berlin, Germany: 24th-27th

Arrive back in Paris on the morning of April 28th, after a 16 hour bus ride from Berlin. But let’s not think about that quite yet.

I came to Florence yesterday with my parents and Jay, who had been visiting me in Paris for the past few days. They loved Paris, especially the food, but Florence is going to rival the City of Lights in that department. It was raining all day and decidedly yucky, so our meals were really the highlight (or, at least, my highlight, quelle surprise)

Dinner last night was at Buca Mario, a restaurant recommended by one of my mom’s Culinary friends back home. There was a line outside the door before they opened at 7:30, and people were literally shoving their way in once the place opened. My family, of course, pushed me to the head of the line and encouraged me to separate a mother and her little girl because they cut the line. But they were French, so it was okay. Long story short, we got in right away.

I started off with an appetizer of Pecorino cheese, apples and honey. I had had this before on my previous trip to Italy, and remembered it being delicious. Memory did serve correctly, and I enjoyed it quite a lot.

Next up was two of my favorite things put together: gorgonzola cheese and gnocci. The gnocci was impossibly light, way lighter than pasta should be. The gorgonzola sauce was decadent and delicious.

Finally, dessert. My mom had spotted tiramisu on the dessert cart and couldn’t pass it up. Being the excellent daughter that I am, I offered to help her out.

That was dinner last night, and I don’t think any of us were disappointed. Our waiter was pretty over-the-top, but I guess that’s what he gets paid the big bucks for. The subtle bits of misogny in Italian culture did shine through- when Mom got the veal, it was the “perfect size for a lady.” On the way out, Dad received the bill and Mom received a complimentary apron. Ohhh, Italy.

Today we are continuing our Florence adventures, starting with the Accademia gallery this morning. More blogging (and food updates) to come!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Break Begins: Back to the Food Blog

  1. Wow your description of the food got my tummy rumbling! Sounds like you’re having a good time! And a complimentary apron? That’s bizarre haha

  2. Gotta love the Italians – I’ll take a complimentary apron over the bill any day!!!

  3. Noelle says:

    enjoy the time spent with mom, dad and jay. looking forward to more posts

  4. Noelle says:

    hey you have not blogged like forever. Hope you had a very happy birthday and enjoyed your time with the family.

Leave a Reply

