Back At It

You may have noticed (or, you know, not) that I’ve been a little absent from the blogging world as of late. This is because I haven’t really done a whole lot of sightseeing lately, falling into the rut that many do when you see famous sights each and every day: you don’t actually take the time out to explore them.

Well, I’m done with that. I made a giant list of things that I have yet to do in Paris, and I need to get on it if I’m going to see everything before I leave in May. With the weather turning especially lovely lately, I don’t think it will be too difficult.

 This weekend, I knocked a couple of things off my list. First up yesterday was the Musée Rodin. Truthfully, this is going to need to be revisited because the museum itself was closed. However, the beautiful gardens encircling the museum were open, and are filled with some of Rodin’s most famous sculptures. Recognize this guy?

Image

As soon as the gardens opened, The Thinker, or Le Penseur, already had a gaggle of tourists surrounding it, undoubtedly all having intense philosophical revelations whilst considering this sculpture. (Exhibit A: Dude in this picture) This is actually an enlargement of a part of another sculpture, which happened to be one of my favorites of the day:

Image

 It’s called Gates of Hell, and it is HUGE. You can see a smaller version of The Thinker here, located in the upper middle portion. Gates of Hell was inspired by Dante’s Inferno, and there is no better visual depiction of the epic poem than this gargantuan work of art.

The gardens themselves were nice, though I hope to return on a warmer/sunnier day with a picnic.

Next up on yesterday’s itinerary was Les Egouts, or the sewer museum. Yep, you read that correctly. I actually paid €3,50 to read about Paris’ sewage system (and see it in action!)

 It was dark and a little smelly, for sure. It was also a unique way to learn how this system has evolved over time to become so efficient and well-organized. I mean, Paris has gone from dumping raw sewage into Seine and wondering why everyone was getting cholera (100,000+ cubic meters of waste every day during Napoleon I’s time, to be exact) to a network that now removes 1.2 million cubic meters of waste water from the city each day.

Image

It’s just too bad that I didn’t get here before 1975, or else I could have taken a boat tour down the sewage canals. Yum. 

This morning, I grabbed a big ‘ol coffee from Starbucks (yeah, I know) and took a leisurely walk through the Luxembourg Gardens. I eat my lunch there in between classes during the week, and it has quickly become one of my favorite places in Paris. Now, with the flowers blooming, it’s more gorgeous than ever. I finally had my camera with me today when I went.

Image

More pictures on Facebook, if you’d like to take a gander. Happy Sunday, everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back At It

  1. An amazing week-end, even the sewer visit. The garden looks absolutely beautiful. I would love to see “The Gates of Hell” in person. Photos, no matter how good, just don’t do some things justice.
    Looking forward to the next post. Good luck on your list!

  2. Noelle says:

    hello our sweet niece tried to post a comment yesterday for some reason it did not like me. anyway we finally found your blog i know a little late but you know the old saying better late than never, we loved reading all about your adventures!! keep up the good work!! love you uncle joe, aunt noelle and amanda

Leave a Reply

