Spring Awakening

What a beautiful spring day! The sun was shining and the temperature was up around 60 mid-afternoon. I’m so glad that we’ve finally left bitter coldness behind, though there are still plenty of gray days sprinkled in among the sunny ones. Somehow, though, the city manages to still be gorgeous even when the skies are overcast.

Although there are still museums that I’d like to visit (Centre Pompidou, for one) and others I’d like to revisit (the Louvre), I just couldn’t bring myself to go inside for anything other than class today. During my two hour break between Grammar and Phonetics, I grabbed a ham-and-cheese crêpe on Île St. Louis and walked down to the Seine. I read my book in the sunshine while I munched, and I must say, it was one of the best afternoons I’ve had in awhile. American Psycho, however, did make for strange reading on such a bright day.

After Phonetics, I went for a run around Cité, which I had not yet done. In addition to the Fondation des Etats-Unis, about forty other countries have houses on this immense campus. On the quad behind the Maison Internationale (home of the ATMs and a couple eateries), people were playing Frisbee and lounging in the grass. It almost felt like I was back on a college campus at home- albeit one with a extremely multicultural student body.

All in all, a pretty darn good day. And the weather is looking equally wonderful for the remainder of the week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

