A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

This weekend was a random mish-mash of a lot of things, starting with a French nightclub on Friday night. This was certainly an experience, and gave any New York club that I’ve been to a run for its money in the hipster department. I didn’t exactly feel out of place, but I didn’t look quite as…European as the rest of the crowd. The first DJ was decent; the music went a little downhill as the night progressed. Still, we had a lot of fun, and nearly our whole group was able to go out together.

Then came Saturday: the high point of my weekend. I’ve been away from home for about six weeks now, and the homesickness has begun to set in a bit. I still absolutely adore Paris, but there are things that I do miss about home. On Saturday afternoon, I was able to quell one of these yearnings, at Breakfast in America. This little restaurant, with two locations in the city, was opened by a Connecticut couple who felt Paris was lacking in good, old-fashioned American diner food (I couldn’t agree more).

Now, if I had eaten at Breakfast in America at home, I would have said, “Wow, what wonderfully mediocre diner food.” Here, however, it’s completely different. I welcomed that bottomless cup of coffee into my hands with such love and tenderness that it’s possible I shed a tear or two. The burger and fries- well, that’s a given. We topped off the whole thing with by sharing the mildly-racist “Obama” milkshake- vanilla ice cream, chocolate syrup and peanut butter. Ha ha, do ya get it??

The rest of Saturday afternoon was spent wandering around Ile de St. Louis, which is right across the way from Notre Dame. I found a pair of flats on the cheap, which is excellent, because I currently have several pairs of boots, my high heels and a pair of running shoes to take me into spring. And wearing trainers every day? Let’s just say that I like to showcase my nationality through my accent, not my footwear.

On Sunday, a few of us headed over to the Salon d’Agriculture, a huge exhibition of food and livestock from every region of France and France’s overseas territories. Free samples abound!

I had the most fun with the booths from French Caribbean territories. They had live music and dancers, and were overall a whole lot more exciting than the regular ‘ol France booths. I had a Creole sandwich from Martinique, which was spicy and wonderful and delicious. For some reason, spicy food is difficult to come by here- even buying hot sauce in grocery stores is a challenge. When the lady asked me if I wanted the extra super-duper special sauce, I answered with a resounding, “Yesss!”

There you have it; my weekend of randomness. I guess since it didn’t include any major tourist sites, I must be a local or something.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Little Bit of This, A Little Bit of That

  1. A pretty wonderful week-end from my perspective – you do sound like a local. I’m sure there are Frenchmen who are intrigued by Breakfast in America, too!

  2. While in France I learned that bacon is a concept the French just don’t really get. Ham, lardons, check. Breakfast bacon, no dice. If you can find bacon en Paris you will be my goddess.

  3. taramolloy says:

    I’m happy to report that my bacon cheeseburger, did, indeed, have real bacon on it. Though the only place I’ve seen legit bacon in this country has been at an American diner!

Leave a Reply

