The. Best. Hot. Chocolate. Ever.

Paris weather has been a bit nippy lately, so our trip to l’Arc de Triomphe and promenade along the Champs-Elysée today was short indeed.

We were planning to go to the top, as part of the all-monuments-are-free-on-the-first-Sunday-of-the-month deal, but our attempt was thwarted. You see, Paris got a HUGE blizzard last night (as you can see from the picture) of at least 1/8 inch of snow. Therefore, it was too slippery and the Arc was closed today.

This was how we were led to Angelina’s Café, next to the Jardin de Tuileries. I found this via European Travelista’s “Five of the Best Sweet Treats to Try in Paris,” all of which I have vowed to enjoy during my time here.(http://europeantravelista.com/2011/09/07/five-of-the-best-sweet-treats-to-try-in-paris/) The specialty at Angelina’s is hot chocolate, and it most definitely lived up to and exceeded all of my expectations. It was the thickest, smoothest, richest and creamiest hot chocolate that I have ever had in my life. It reminded me of the hot chocolate described in The Polar Express as melted chocolate bars. We shared one pot between the three of us, and it was the perfect amount.

In addition to our hot chocolate, we also tried the Mirabelle. This was a layered crème brûlée dessert with plum and pear flavors. Of course, it was delicious.

It was the perfect end to the day, though probably a little fancier than most Super Bowl Sunday fare. Everyone was planning on going out to the bars tonight at midnight to watch the game, but the chilly Paris weather is keeping everyone in. Fine by me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The. Best. Hot. Chocolate. Ever.

  1. Sorry it’s so cold. (We had a hot dog roast by the pond – being the hardy folk that we are!) You have time to hit some of these sites later. Glad you were able to drown your sorrows in hot chocolate!

  2. Mary Molloy says:

    Je suis desolee:) (give me a break it’s been 35+ years) The hot chocolate would have been enough in itself! Dessert?!?!

  3. J’adore your blog! You make me wish I was back in France. Also, if you haven’t yet, I recommend going to Sacré Coeur and watching the sun set over the eiffel tower from the hill. It’s the most beautiful sunset I think I’ve ever seen.

Leave a comment