Bon Appétit!

My first Paris post, you may have noticed, made no mention of food at all. For those who know how much I love exploring different cuisines when I travel (I’m looking at you, Rachel Baker, fellow globe-trotting buddy/foodie), this is probably strange. The sole reason for this is because even in the short time that I’ve been in Paris (three whole days), I need an entire entry dedicated to what I’ve eaten.

Our first night here, we ventured out to a crêperie in the Latin Quarter. It was a random pick, but turned out to be soo good. I ordered a ham, egg and cheese crêpe (though I feel it may have been a little much to try to eat at breakfast time), and it was phenomenal. The crêpe was buckwheat, and it’s extreme thinness held up surprisingly well against the rest of the ingredients. I hadn’t eaten anything all day and was ravenous when we arrived; I could barely finish what was on my plate by the end. I washed it all down with Cidre Brut, a hard cider with a nice, sharp flavor.

Yesterday was all about the panini. On our lunch break, we found a small, hole-in-the-wall place that I’m going to have a hard time breaking away from in the future. Fresh crêpes made on the spot, along with grilled paninis and kébabs. I opted for the Panini Grec, which had feta cheese and tomatoes. Magnifique.

Later on in the day, let’s say linnertime, I was (once again) starving. Through our wandering, we spotted a student special: panini, pastry and drink for 4.30€! So, I had my second panini of the day: grilled chicken, lettuce and tomato on a crusty (in a good way) baguette. Later, I enjoyed the buttery croissant that came with my meal.

In short, I am in love with the food of this city. I definitely need to up my intake of fruits and veggies (hence my orange/banana purchase yesterday at the carrefour), but otherwise, I am completely okay with the whole bread/cheese thing. And tonight, onto that bottle of vin…

PS- I’ll try to start photographing my food before I shove it down my gullet. I just get so excited when it’s mealtime here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bon Appétit!

  1. Your Fellow globe-trotting foodie says:

    Sounds so amazing!!! I want to be eating bread and cheese with you in Paris and chocolate and wine. It sounds like you are having a fabulous time 🙂

  2. I am starving after reading your entry! Everything sounds delicious. The crusty bread, cheese and fruit meal is a favorite for us when we’re on the road! I, too, like to add a glass of wine; Uncle Eric prefers the fancy olives, a little more Italian, I know.
    Buckwheat – at least you had whole grains,
    Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

